The English Baccalaureate (EBacc) is currently not a qualification in its own right but a group of GCSEs that are looked upon favourably by further education institutions and employers. The government had planned to replace core GCSE subjects with the EBacc from 2015. However, these plans have now been scrapped.

Instead, the EBacc is more of a way for parents and the government to better understand league tables. This is because now, you will be able to see how well schools do in these core subjects. The subjects required by the EBacc are:

  • Maths
  • English
  • Two Sciences
  • History of Geography
  • One Ancient or Modern Language

To meet EBacc requirements students must achieve grade A*-C in all of the above. AS levels taken in the relevant subject before the end of KS4 will also count towards the EBacc. A detailed list of the GCSEs that count towards the EBacc can be found here.

What the EBacc gives students that take it, is a measure of success in the subjects most often preferred in further study. This does not mean every child should take these subjects. Their choices should depend on their areas of strength and their chosen future path. However, those looking to go to University may benefit by choosing from among the EBacc options.


Return to Diplomas and Baccalaureates