Australia has a long history of further education and boasts eight universities in the top 200 according to the 2013 QS World Rankings: 

  • Australian National University (27)
  • Monash University (69)
  • University of New South Wales (52)
  • University of Melbourne (31)
  • University of Queensland (43)
  • University of Sydney (38)
  • University of Western Australia (84)
  • University of Adelaide (104)


Image Credit: See-ming Lee/ Flickr

Propsective students apply in August with applications closing either in January or July respectively, depending on whether you are looking to attend semester 1 or 2 first - this is a common option in Australia. Year-round admissions are also often available. The academic year runs from February to the end of October. 

Australian universities accept A Levels and the International Baccalaureate (IB), as well as other international qualifications. 

Undergraduate degrees are 3 years in length and cost approximately £15,000 per year. University accommodation costs between £100-£200 a week, depending on the city and the type of accommodation chosen. 

In a similar vein to the UK, Australian universities collaborate with each other according to their ideals. Understanding collaborations help you, as a prospective student, to understand the types of university Australia possess, and apply to one which suits your academic discipline and interests. Alliances include:

Group of Eight

  • Australian National University
  • Monash University
  • University of Adelaide
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Queensland
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Western Australia

The Group of Eight (Go8) has been operating as an informal network of vice-chancellors since 1994 and formally incorporated in September 1999. Its aim is to maximise the potential for collaboration in a competitive environment, adding value for individual universities and Australia through: providing high quality policy analysis and advice services to its members and their staff; developing international strategic alliances and networks; influencing national policies for higher education and university research; offering a trusted network through which ideas and expertise are shared among the leaders of Go8 universities; and building community support for research universities. 

Australian Technology Network

  • Curtin University
  • University of South Australia
  • RMIT University
  • University of Technology, Sydney
  • Queensland University of Technology

The Australian Technology Network (ATN) brings together five of the most innovative and enterprising universities in the nation: Curtin UniversityUniversity of South Australia (UniSA) , RMIT UniversityUniversity of Technology Sydney (UTS), and Queensland University of Technology (QUT). They forge partnerships with industry and government to deliver practical results through focused research, and educate students who, upon graduation, are ready to enter their chosen profession.

ATN universities teach approximately 180,000 students, almost 20% of Australia's students population. They are, also, the largest provider of international education, with 1 in 4 international students choosing to study at an ATN university.

Innovative Research Universities

  • Flinders University
  • Griffith University
  • La Trobe University
  • Murdoch University; and
  • The University of Newcastle
  • James Cook University
  • Charles Darwin University 

The Innovative Research Universities (IRU) was created in 2003 by universities established as research-intensive universities during the 1960s and 1970s during a period of massive expansion in higher education and extensive innovation in educational design and delivery. It aims to build a strong voice with government and other influential bodies; enhance quality through the sharing of policy and practice; and create opportunities for students and stakeholders through collaboration and partnership.