Universities in the Republic of Ireland have a long history. For example, University College Cork, University College Dublin, National University of Ireland, Galway and National University of Ireland, Maynooth are part of the National University of Ireland, a federal university system of constituent universities set up under the Irish Universities Act, 1908, with Cork and Galway previously being part of the Queen's Colleges of Belfast, Cork and Galway, established in 1845. Trinity College Dublin is the only constituent college of the University of Dublin, set up in 1592. 


Image Credit: Guiseppe Milo/ Flickr 

Ireland currently has two universities in the top 200 - Trinity College Dublin (61) and University College Dublin (139) - according to the 2013 QS World Rankings.

All degrees are taught in English and Bachelor's degrees are undertaken over four years. A Levels and equivalent qualifications are accepted; universities ask for mimimum grades converted into points, and offer conditional places. Once the grades are released they offer firm places to the highest performing candidates.

All fees for EU students under Ireland's "Student Service Charge" are €2500 (approximately £2000) per academic year. 

Living costs vary depending on the city the university is located in, however in Dublin it is likely that you will spend approximately £5000 a year on rent. 

Students should apply through the Central Admissions Office with applications running from 5th November to 1st February for an Autumn start date.